What is Astrology?

Mapping Your Destiny with Vedic Astrology

In Sanskrit, the word Jyotish is a combination of the words Jyoti, meaning light, and ishta, meaning deity. It is therefore loosely interpreted as the study of the Sovereignty of “Light”. A deeper implication of the word Jyotish though is the light of intuition. Without this blazing flash of insight, astrology remains largely a technical maze. An astrologer or Jyotishi should also possess an inner light or intuition for correct analysis and prediction. This is why most Jyotishis utilize a personal deity or subtle guide in perfecting their inner psychic abilities. This light is the substratum of the Universe and all life and is the underlying power behind all celestial movement.

The original Vedic authors divulged the principles of Sidereal astrology to their deserving pupils in an age-old oral tradition. They regarded the celestial movements and their relationships to predictive issues as only a very small part of the real intention of astrology. In all authentic texts of the Vedic astrological tradition, every author, without exception, commences his work with a salutary verse to the Spirit within all things. Honor and worship to the life within the planets to the Abstract Intelligence, impelling all beings in the Universe to act and perform Karma.


According to Vedic tradition, there are three primary attributes in nature Rajas or passion and activity

•             Tamas or inertia and immobility

•             Sattva or harmony and goodness

•             Sattva or harmony and goodness


There are also four basic motivations or aims of human nature. Including:

•             Dharma or the execution of duty or law through meaningful work.

•             Artha or the acquisition of wealth and material security.

•             Kama or desire for emotional and sensual enjoyment.

•             Moksha or the culmination of spiritual endeavor and the transcendence of the cycle of karma and transmigration.

All four aims of life are accepted synergistically as a means of securing fulfillment and peace. The fourth, Moksha, is given priority in the scheme of human endeavor and infuses spirituality to the other three ‘material’ activities of man.

These three attributes and four aims can also be used to categorize and define more clearly the 12 signs of the zodiac. In this manner, each sign is seen as a successive stage in your process of evolution to the final state of perfect Self-knowledge. Your focus and path may also be experienced more fully by gaining a greater knowledge of your birth sign.

The Sattvic or harmonious planets are Mercury and Jupiter. Rajasic or mobile planets are, Sun, Moon and Venus, and the Tamasic or inert planets being Mars, Saturn, Rahu (Moon’s North Mode) and Ketu (Moon’s South Mode). According to this scheme, therefore, the twelve signs of the zodiac, each ruled by the planets, are categorized as follows by their attribute and also their motivation.

Aries  – Tamasic Dharma

Taurus – Rajasic Artha

Gemini – Sattvic Kama

Cancer – Rajasic Moksha

Leo – Rajasic Dharma

Virgo – Sattvic Artha

Libra – Rajasic Kama

Scorpio – Tamasic Moksha

Sagittarius – Sattvic Dharma

Capricorn – Tamasic Artha

Aquarius – Tamasic Kama

Pisces – Sattvic Moksha

The Zodiac is therefore divided motivationally by the elements.

-The fire signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius constitute the Dharma or duty impulse.

-The earth signs of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn represent the Artha or wealth impulse.

-Gemini, Libra and Aquarius indicate the kama or pleasure principle and

– Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces, Moksha or occult and spiritual pathways.

The process of reincarnation and karma may be evaluated by scrutinizing the geniture (horoscope) of an individual.

Vedic Astrology in itself is very important and helpful. It was not only utilized in the Vedic era but even today it holds equal importance. Through this science, people try to know about the good and bad times in human life.

This doctrine of Karma and destiny is primly utilized in the Indian Vedic astrology. The future readings are based on the good/bad karmas of the previous lives or the present life. This science uses information like the place, time, date, and planetary position. These calculations help us to know what has happened in the past, what is happening in the present, and also about what can be expected in the future. With the help of astrology, you can know about the upcoming problems of the future and obtain a definitive and exact solution to the problem. Astrology works as a road-map. But it totally depends on you, how much you utilize this divine science.

It is clear that by adopting proper guidance on the astrological aspects, you can also make your life happier. We wish you the best of luck with a lot of motivation.  Have online consulting with Remedial Astrologer Pt. Manish Aggarwal and get the required guidance.